Now introducing, Johnny Blaze

23 02 2007

I will try to introduce myself and this blog with as little fanfare as possible, in the interest of modesty. I am your esteemed lord, master, and consumer of recreational drugs, Johnny Blaze. While I realize this is also the legal name of the Ghost Rider, I use it as a nickname, given to me because of my relaxed confidence and incredible sexual appeal, or because I look like i’m stoned even when im dead sober..
Enough of the theatrics and egotisticalness. I created this blog because of an idea I had with my buddy Myk. We wanted an opportunity to write about a subject we are both passionate about. The idea, at first, was to make videogaming website in the model of IGN, Gamestop etc. Upon further thought, and a bowl or two of some good bud, we realized we had better come up with something unique. I decided having a blog and not a traditional website, would not only be more progressive, but allow the focus to be on the content, not on a constricting and confusing visual layout.

This isn’t a place for you to find every associated press news release about videogames. This is not a place were you will find a review of Barbies Horse Racing. This is not a place where we will mince words, make reviews arbitrarily long (or short), or attempt to write in the boring uncolorful journalistic style of most news media. This blog will not be limited to
videogames, and will cover many different form of entertainment. It will not be limited by political correctness, or any form of motherfucking candy pansy ass censorship.

I know that for many people entertainment is a release from the troubles of their everyday lives, and I will strive to stay away from the boring formal style of your corporate overlords. I want our readers to treat us like that friend who knows a lot about games, movies, music and the like. A much more open minded and objective friend than most, but a friend nonetheless. So like any good friend, we want your honest feedback and opinion. In the coming months, we will be introducing a lot of different recurring features. This is an opportunity for our readers to help make this site what they want it to be.

Tell us what you would like to see. What can you expect for now is that we will be writing a lot about retro gaming, homebrew gaming, independent movies and more. Expect to see reviews and commentary of Youtube videos for example.

As for what I enjoy, I am very open minded, so I will play everything from RPGs to Strategy games, to the newest halo/gears of war. My taste in movies is the same way. I don’t look down on fun comedies like Anchorman just because I love the action and thrill of a movie like The Departed. You can also count on me to talk about less trendy and action packed Citizen Kane esque movies. My taste in music is just as limitless. And I like my babes white, black, brown, but most of all Asian ;-).

pic23.jpg


Actions

Information

3 responses

12 03 2007
Lemster

Nice pic of the girl ^_^ and i def look forwad to hearing your reviews so far sounds interesting keep it up

25 03 2007
Obi

its true, i’ve seen him lick the bowl

17 04 2007
Bruce

Quote:
I decided having a blog and not a traditional website, would not only be more progressive, but allow the focus to be on the content, not on a constricting and confusing visual layout.
_________________________________________________

You have an interesting vision with this website, however I feel you fell a bit short of your goal in terms of the confusing visual layout. Let me explain…

Firstly, the blog theme you are using is pretty bad (as in, you could do better — there are tons of free themes out there, and I’m sure you can find a better one then what you currently have). While I definitely like a black background, your text is very small (anything smaller then size 12 is not a good idea), and the colour of the text is difficult to see in contrast to the background (granted, my brightness on my monitor isn’t very high, but even turned up to max, in my opinion, the text isn’t prominent enough). For an idea of how to do a black background with grey text and make it work, see this website:

http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=sony_bullshit

If you’d like to know why the font on the above looks like it does, go to the following page and do a Ctrl+F browser search on this text (without the quotation marks):

“Why do you use such huge fonts?”
http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=faq

Secondly, in terms of the navigation your blog has, I’d suggest adding some plugins to it in order to make navigation easier. Maybe even a Google search bar, and stuff like that. Generally things that add options to navigation while still keeping it fairly simplistic and intuitive, because right now your navigation is kind of… well… lacking (not really your fault, standard blog templates and default blogs have terrible navigation, but you can do things to fix that, and I think it’d help your blog a lot if you did). Sorting things by month makes finding things difficult, and you’d be better off using categories.

Thirdly, if you’re serious about this website, I wouldn’t keep it on a free WordPress blog. I’d get some web hosting, a domain name, and put a WordPress blog on that from:
http://wordpress.org/

I’m being fairly critical here and I know you’re just starting out, but for a website that is starting out, A) first impressions are important, and B) since you plan to have lots of readers, it’s important to have good visual design and navigation. But apart from that, a bit of spit and shine and she’ll look much better.

All the best for the future.

– Bruce

Leave a Reply

